Prayer behind the Scenes


When my family and I first moved to Perry a little over 10 years ago, I worked part-time as a rural mail-carrier for the USPS. One day, I pulled into the driveway of a home to deliver a package and an older gentleman approached me from the garage. We struck up a conversation, and I discovered he was also a preacher. More specifically, a “semi-retired” pastor from one of our local Methodist churches. We exchanged phone numbers and he invited me to start meeting with him and a group of guys each week at a prayer breakfast.

I really wasn’t interested, if I’m being honest. As odd as that may sound for a preacher to say, it’s true. To understand my hesitancy in attending, you have to consider my background. You see, I was brought up in a sort of isolationist form of Christianity that seriously frowned on interdenominational meetings of any kind, even including prayer meetings. Ecumenicalism (in any form) was a big no-no in the church setting where I was raised, and the idea of getting together with a bunch of people from different denominations was (at that time) just a bridge too far for me.

So candidly, I didn’t give the invite much thought and went about my route. But then a couple weeks later, I got a phone call from this preacher reminding me of the day and time of their weekly meeting. I cordially said, thanks for the invitation but I can’t come. I brushed him off, fully expecting not to hear from him again. But then just a couple weeks later, one Monday night, I got yet another phone call from this same gentleman. After a few niceties, he said, “we are meeting tomorrow morning at 7:00 and we would like for you to come speak for us.” I was pretty much floored, and didn’t know what to say. The man was so nice, it was hard to tell him no. So, I reluctantly agreed to attend, but said since it would be my first time, I wasn’t comfortable speaking and would rather get the flow of things first.

So, quite begrudgingly I crawled out of bed that next morning, unsure of what I was walking into. At the time, the men were meeting downstairs in the New Perry Hotel, (but that has since changed). Unfamiliar with the hotel, I wasn’t sure I would find them that Tuesday morning, and frankly – wasn’t sure I wanted to.

However, I was warmly welcomed and more than pleasantly surprised by what I saw. Contrary to what I had been told all my life, these men were not compromising liberals out to undermine the Bible and orthodox Christianity. Turns out, the men weren’t ministerial monsters after all. There were no heretical theological third eyes protruding from their foreheads. And no horns instead of halos hovering over them. Yes, I am exaggerating some and yes, we do share some significant differences of opinion on some Biblical matters. But again, growing up in the belief system I was reared in, legitimately caused me to call into question the veracity and sincerity of anyone who didn’t believe exactly the same way we did. Which included anyone who wasn’t “our brand of Baptist.”

It was so refreshing to be around these men. I found them to be sincere Christians and devout fathers and husbands who desired to have an impact on the community around them. None of them tried to cram their theology down my throat, or force me to condone their belief system. In fact, they were quite content to love one another as brethren and agree to disagree on lesser points of doctrine.

I started attending that week, and have been going (fairly) regularly ever since. Since those early days, I have gotten to know these men better, and my respect for them has only grown. My family and I have been shown love and friendship and they have prayed for us many, many times. While there are some doctrinal differences between us, that we occasionally discuss, I count these men as dear friends and thank God for them.

However, I have said all that to say this; if you live here, though you probably don’t know it, these men are praying for you and your family. Unnoticed by most of the world, and even by people right here in Perry, every single Tuesday morning (barring Holidays) these men meet and pray over our community. Each week this sweet group of godly guys get together and pray. They are not looking for atta-boys or accolades. They simply believe in the power of prayer and desire to see God work in the lives of those right here in our area.

Each Tuesday, we pray for our first responders, city/state/federal government officials, churches and church leaders, our military, local law enforcement, nursing home residents and staff, and those in the hospital and the employees there. These and many others are brought before the throne of grace. We also have a list of names who are read out loud and prayed over every week. But our greatest desire, and weekly petition, is for you and yours to come to know Christ and the power of His resurrection.

If you need special prayer, and would like to be added to our prayer list, please let us know. If any of you men reading this would like to join us, we meet each Tuesday morning from 7:00-7:30AM in the social hall of Perry United Methodist Church. Contact Jim Lewis at (478) 550-5122 for more information.

Only eternity will reveal how God has used (and blessed) the faithful efforts of these men to promote the well-being of our citizens and society.

Finally, I would be remiss not to thank my good friend, Leland Collins for stepping out of his garage that day, and asking me to step out of my comfort zone. Him patiently inviting this stubborn narrow-minded Baptist preacher to come to their “ecumenical” Tuesday morning prayer group has been one of God’s greatest predestinated acts of providence in my life. It was his gentle spirit and persistent kindness that first drew me to this ministry. Needless to say, involving myself with this group of men has been nothing short of a huge blessing. And Perry peeps, whether you know it or not, these powerful prayers offered up behind the scenes, have been a blessing to you also.

Let me close with this Scriptural exhortation: 1 Timothy 2:1-3 “Therefore I exhort first of all that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and giving of thanks be made for all men, for kings and all who are in authority, that we may lead a quiet and peaceable life in all godliness and reverence. For this is good and acceptable in the sight of God our Savior.”

Leave a comment